Lone Star Reading List 2015- 2016
The design and resources used for this interactive poster came from the official TLA website. Please click on the link for more information on this awesome Texas reading program. txla.org Lone Star Reading List | Texas Library Association
youtu.be Buzz Kill by Beth Fantaskey, author of Jessica's Guide to Dating on the Dark Side In this fresh and funny teen mystery, seventeen-year-old Millie joins force...
youtu.be A new series from the #1 bestselling coauthor of BEAUTIFUL CREATURES, Kami Garcia. Available October 1, 2013. "You Still Haunt Me" words and music by Dom Lib...
youtu.be Official book trailer for TUT: THE STORY OF MY IMMORTAL LIFE by P. J. Hoover (Starscape/Tor/Macmillan, September 16, 2014) Read the book. Play the video game...
youtu.be A book trailer for "The Great Trouble: A Mystery of London, the Blue Death, and a Boy Called Eel" by Deborah Hopkinson. - created at http://animoto.com
youtu.be Check out this trailer from our author Matthew Jobin for his epic fantasy, The Nethergrim, perfect for fans of Ranger's Apprentice and the Chronicles of Narn...
youtu.be Coming Summer, 2013 from Harper Teen. They hear the most silent of footsteps. They are faster than anything you've ever seen. And They won't stop chasing you...
youtu.be All aboard for a non-stop fantasy adventure from master storyteller Kenneth Oppel! Visit http://kennethoppel.ca
youtu.be Book trailer for Mary E. Pearson's new fantasy novel, The Kiss of Deception
youtu.be Ten years ago, Calamity came. It was a burst in the sky that gave ordinary people extraordinary powers. The awed public started calling them Epics. Epics are...
youtu.be THE THICKETY: A PATH BEGINS, from debut author J.A. White, is the start of a thrilling and spellbinding tale about a girl, the Thickety, and the power of mag...
youtu.be The actual Final edition of the Book Trailer: "The Crossover" by Kwame Alexander. BGM: Instrumental Diamond life (modified version)
youtu.be Trailer for The Haunting of Gabriel Ashe
youtu.be 1 minute book review of the junior fiction novel There Will Be Bears by Ryan Gebhart.
youtu.be 1 minute book review of the junior fiction novel The Great Greene Heist by Varian Johnson.
youtu.be A teenager who found confidence with help from book that might surprise you at the suggestion from her mom, Maya Van Wagenen followed advice from a 1950s gui...
youtu.be Alex London's debut YA novel, PROXY! This year's must-read thrill ride. - created at http://animoto.com
youtu.be An overwhelming explosion of thousands of tons of naval munitions blew up an American city killing hundreds in July 1944. With the help of many of the Contra...
youtu.be Port Chicago 50, booktalk
Alexander, Kwame. <b><i>The Crossover</i></b>. HMH Books for Young Readers, 2014. Fourteen year old twin brothers, Jordan (JB) and Josh Bell (aka Filthy McNasty) are unstoppable on the court. Growing up they face struggles, changes, and challenges.
Chen, Justina. <i><b>A Blind Spot for Boys</b></i>. Little, Brown Books for Young Readers. 2014. Shana Wilde is on a self imposed boy moratorium. Her priority now is to spend time with her father who is going blind. She and her parents set out on an adventure to walk the Inca Trail to Machu Picchu. The last thing she needs is to fall in love, but when Quattro rides into her life in Seattle and shows up in Peru, Shana learns a lesson or two about love and life.
Fantaskey, Beth.<b><i> Buzz Kill</i></b>. HMH Books for Young Readers, 2014. When a highly unpopular football coach is found dead, high school journalist Millie Ostermeyer is eager to uncover the truth, especially when it becomes clear that her father, the assistant coach, is the chief suspect!
Garcia, Kami.<b><i> Unbreakable</i></b>. Little, Brown Books for Young Readers , 2013. Kennedy discovers she is a member of an ancient society to protect the world from a demon determined to get out of his dimension and into ours. She joins the Legion to find a weapon that can defeat him.
Gebhart, Ryan. <i><b>There Will Be Bears</b></i>. Candlewick, 2014. Tyson is sad to see his grandpa moved to the nursing home that is three hours away. Not only is he losing one of his best friends, he is going to miss out on his first big hunting opportunity. But when grandpa comes up with a alternate plan to take Tyson to kill his first elk in an area with recent bear activity, the hunt is back on.
Harrington, K.A. <b><i>Forget Me</i></b>. Putnam Juvenile, 2014. Morgan Tulley is finally moving on after the hit and run death of her boyfriend Flynn, but when she posts a picture of him online, the face recognition tag suggests another boy named Evan Murphy. Is Flynn really dead or has Morgan been living a lie?
Hoover, P.J. <b><i>Tut: The Story of My Immortal Life</i></b>. Starscape, 2014. Instead of dying, like the history books report, King Tut was granted the gift of immortality. He&apos;s been fourteen years old for 3,000 years. Suddenly, an enemy returns and Tut has the chance to exact revenge for betrayals long past. But at what cost?
Hopkinson, Deborah. <b><i>The Great Trouble: A Mystery of London, the Blue Death, and a Boy Called Eel</i></b>. Knopf Books for Young Readers, 2013. 13 year old Eel is trying to survive the mean streets of 1850s London. Life is hard, but nothing prepares him for the devastating outbreak of Cholera that kills hundreds in his neighborhood. What can one boy do to help find the cause of the outbreak and end the great trouble?
Jobin, Matthew. <i><b>The Nethergrim</b></i>. Philomel, 2014. Valiant knight Tristan and the wizard Vithric destroyed the evil Nethergrim in a devastating battle decades ago...as the legend goes. No one knows for sure. The survivors aren’t talking, but something dark is brewing. Edmund Bale, an aspiring wizard, is convinced the Nethergrim is back.
Johnson, Varian. The Great Greene Heist. Arthur A. Levine Books, 2014. Oceans 11 meets middle school. Jackson Greene is a con artist trying to go straight since his last botched con lost him his best friend and hopefully future girlfriend, Gaby. However, when he discovers her bid for StuCo President is about to be rigged by his arch enemy, he decides to end his retirement and help ensure her victory.
London, Alex.<b><i> Proxy</i></b>. Philomel, 2013. Knox has everything a patron boy born of privilege could ever want including his own proxy, Syd, who takes Knox&apos;s punishment for any wrong doing. When Knox kills a girl in a car wreck, Syd is sentenced to hard labor and death. Syd can no longer accept the hand of fate he has been dealt, and with Knox&apos;s help, he sets out to change his destiny.
Lough, Amber. <i><b>The Fire Wish</b></i>. Random House Books for Young Readers, 2014. Najwa is a jinni training to be a spy in the war against the humans. Zayele is a human girl unwillingly on her way to marry the prince of Baghdad. But when Najwa is captured by Zayele and is forced to grant her wish of switching places things get interesting.
Lunetta, Demitria. <i><b>In the After</b></i>. HarperTeen, 2013. A suspenseful, fast paced, post­apocalyptic page turner. Zombie­like aliens invade Earth with the single motivation of eating human flesh. Fourteen year old Amy is alone during the attack and the aliens seem to have annihilated all human traces... and so begins her survival story.
Oppel, Kenneth. <b><i>The Boundless</i></b>. Simon &amp; Schuster Books for Young Readers, 2014. Adventure on the Boundless, the greatest train ever built! Teenage Will enlists the aid of a traveling circus to save the train from villains.
Pearson, Mary E.<b><i> The Kiss of Deception</i></b>. Henry Holt and Co., 2014. Lia doesn&apos;t want to marry as an alliance between countries, so she runs away. The prince is impressed by her audacity and tracks her in order to meet her. Meanwhile, a third country wants her dead to keep the alliance from happening, so they send an assassin. Consequences to Lia&apos;s decision are devastating. She must return. Time is up; the assassin must kill her and the prince must reveal the truth.
Poblocki, Dan. <i><b>The Haunting of Gabriel Ashe</b></i>. Scholastic Press, 2013. Gabriel Ashe and his friend Seth spend the summer playing a made up game of princes and monsters in the woods between their homes. It&apos;s a game passed down from Seth&apos;s older brother who supposedly ran away. What the boys don&apos;t realize is that they have awakened an evil spirit and it loves to play games.
Sanderson, Brandon. <b><i>Steelheart</i></b>. Delacorte Press, 2013. Ten years ago Calamity appeared in the sky, and it gave ordinary humans superhuman powers. They are called Epics, and one of the worst is Steelheart who rules what was once Chicago. Steelheart seems indestructible, but one boy has seen Steelheart bleed and he wants revenge for his father&apos;s death.
Sheinkin, Steve. <i><b>The Port Chicago 50: Disaster, Mutiny, and the Fight for Civil Rights</b></i>. Roaring Brook Press, 2014. Little ­known Civil Rights milestone: During World War II, black sailors performed the dangerous job of loading ammunition, without training or safety procedures. After an explosion killed hundreds, sailors were courtmartialed for refusing to load ammo.
Van Wagenen, Maya. <b><i>Popular: Vintage Wisdom for a Modern Geek</i></b>. Dutton Juvenile, 2014. Maya finds a copy of a 60 year old guide on how to be popular. She decides to follow the advice given and see how her experiment turns out. She changes her clothes, diet, and most importantly­­her attitude.
White, J.A. <i>The Thickety.</i> Katherine Tegen Books, 2014. Kara Westfall lives on a remote island in a community known as The Path that abhors witches. Her mother was found to be a witch and was hanged and now, five years later, Kara deals with the aftermath on a daily basis. But when she finds a book in the forbidden forest known as The Thickety things will change.
Designed for the purpose of promoting the Lone Star reading program. unpretentiouslibrarian.blogspot.ie This is a blog of the collaborative ideas, programming, and thoughts of a secondary school librarian. I am always ready to try a new tool, delve into a new idea, and collaborate with others to help promote all school library programs.
accounts.google.com 2015 Lone Star reading chart.pdf
polldaddy.com What is your favorite Lone Star book? (poll 8704023) | Crowdsignal.com
youtu.be Book Trailer for Lonestar List 2015-2016 Made by a student for students Images from google images

This site uses cookies to deliver our services. By using our site, you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Cookie Policy. Your use of ThingLink's Products and Services, is subject to these policies and terms.